Honors and Awards

The U.S. Department of Education has announced that five Shawnee Mission students are candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, one of the most prestigious honors given to high school students. Candidates from the Shawnee Mission School District are Akshay Dinakar, SM East; Clara Ma, SM East;  Nicholas Leyden, SM Northwest; Regina Yan, SM South; and Elijah Bunde, SM West.

Nicholas Leyden, a senior at SM Northwest, earned a perfect score on the ACT. On average, less than one-tenth of 1 percent of all test takers achieve this level of success on the exam.